The Board of Directors, along with the sponsors and members of the Cumberland Gap Region Tourism Association, wish to invite you to explore and experience the history, natural beauty, adventures, art, music and the Appalachian culture of the Cumberland Gap Region.  
     The growth and expansion of our beloved country began in 1775 when Daniel Boone lead the first of over 300,000 pioneers, along with their meager belongings, through a gap in the Appalachian Mountain Range that was named the Cumberland Gap.  By blood, sweat and tears these hardy men and women built the first settlements in the rugged and largely unexplored western frontier that eventually became the United States.  
     The ten counties within a twenty-five mile radius of the Cumberland Gap comprise the Cumberland Gap Region.  This rural Tri-state region of Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia is uniquely rich with history and natural beauty.  In many communities the Appalachian culture, customs, and practices of the past have been passed down through generations and today are only found in the people and mountains of this region.   
     Plan your next family vacation where you too can walk in the footsteps of Daniel Boone and those early pioneers.

Mailing Address: 1611 N. Broad St, Tazewell, TN  37879


Cumberland Gap Region Tourism Association is a non-profit membership organization.


Carl Nichols, President/CEO

Sara Williams (Whitley) - Chair

Shannon Brooks (Union) – Treasurer

Nita Louthan  – Immediate Past-Chair

Scott Bowen (State Parks and Recreation) – Executive Committee

Jon Grace (Bell)

Judy Lane (Campbell)

Judy Barton (TN at Large)

Ronnie Mannes (Grainger)

Mayor Tom Harrison (Hancock)

Flora Asher (Harlan)

Denise Wainscott (Knox)

Josh Ely (Lee)

Darren Farquhar (Claiborne)

Dr. Ron Dubin (KY At-Large)

William Tribell (Cumberland Gap)

Dr. Gary Burchett (VA at large)

Toni Winston (Region at large)